Pedino - See on Map

thumb1

The original name of Pedino was Pesperago and with this name is refered at least since the 14th century.

 

Description

The original name of Pedino was Pesperago and with this name is refered at least since the 14th century. In 1955 renamed into Pedino, because the old name was considered of Turkish origin, although this is not true. In 1968, after a major earthquake, the village was ruined, its inhabitants abandoned it and moved in a settlement which was built in a new location and was named Pedino. In 2001, five residents were registered in the old village.

Originally the village was situated in the site of Agios Ioannis, northwest Portianou, at the foothills of Ai-Lias, where there are remains of houses. Unknown when and for what reasons (a common reason of relocation were the deadliest epidemics) moved near the shallow salty lake which is a continuity of the Gulf of Moudros, which is now a wetland.

Agios Ioannis Vaptistis which is the church of the village, was built in 1862 and is a basilica with remarkable carved iconostasis. In Palio Pedino has remained, the picturesque alleys, the cobbled square, the stone mansions with stone reliefs decorative motifs. 

Agios Ioannis Vaptistis which is the church of the village, was built in 1862 and is a basilica with remarkable carved iconostasis. In Palio Pedino has remained, the picturesque alleys, the cobbled square, the stone mansions with stone reliefs decorative motifs.

During the First World War, near the village, at Melangia, allied troops who participated in enterprises of Gallipoli encamped. They created a camp with hospital, aqueduct and other facilities, residues of which are still preserved. Near Palio Pedino is the most remarkable medieval residue of the region, the Alexopyrgos or Alex Tower, which was dependency of the Monastery Pantokratoros of Mount Athos. 

Location

 

Pin It